Print Page  |  Contact Us  |  Your Cart  |  Report Abuse  |  Register
Latest News: Announcements

CHLI Announces its 2017 13th Annual Gala & Leadership Awards Honorees

Monday, April 24, 2017   (0 Comments)
Share |

April 24, 2017

Contact: Michelle Archilla
Phone: 305.812.0113


CHLI Announces its 2017 13th Annual Gala &
Leadership Awards Honorees

April 24, 2017 - Washington, D.C – The Congressional Hispanic Leadership Institute (CHLI) will host its 13th Annual Gala & Leadership Awards: A Tribute to Freedom, on Wednesday, April 26, 2017, at the Mandarin Oriental Hotel, in Washington, D.C. 


At this year’s Gala, CHLI will be honoring Presidential Medal of Freedom Recipient, Dr. Oscar Elias Biscet, with CHLI’s Leadership in International Relations Award. The distinguished Cuban physician was awarded the United States’ most prestigious civilian award by President George W. Bush in 2007. Dr. Biscet has been imprisoned on multiple occasions for his nonviolent pro-democracy work in Cuba. To this day he continues his non-violent struggle for human rights in Cuba. CHLI is honored that Dr. Biscet has agreed to accept its Leadership in International Relations Award for 2017.

Dr. Oscar Elias Biscet
Presidential Medal of Freedom Recipient, Physician and Human Rights Activist

Every year CHLI recognizes, with its Leadership in Public Service Award, exceptional public servants who support the advancement of the Hispanic community in the United States. This year, CHLI recognizes the outstanding contributions of Congressman Rodney Frelinghuysen (R-NJ), Chairman of the House Appropriations Committee, and Congressman Gerald Connolly of Virginia (D-VA).


Congressman Rodney Frelinghuysen (R-NJ)

Congressman Gerry Connolly (D-VA)


As Chairman of the powerful House Committee on Appropriations, Congressman Frelinghuysen has continued his extraordinary work for the rights of all, for fiscal responsibility and for economic growth. CHLI also recognizes Congressman Connolly, another extraordinary Member of Congress, who serves on the House Committee on Foreign Affairs and is a leading voice for human rights throughout the world. 


“CHLI is honored that two statesmen, Congressmen Rodney Frelinghuysen of New Jersey, Chairman of the House Appropriations Committee, and Congressman Gerald Connolly of Virginia, will be joining us at our 13th Annual Gala, where we will celebrate freedom. We look forward to bestowing these extraordinary public servants with our Leadership in Public Service Award for 2017,” said Lincoln Diaz-Balart, former Member of Congress and CHLI Chairman. “CHLI is also humbled that Dr. Oscar Elias Biscet has agreed to accept our Leadership in International Relations Award. Dr. Biscet’s admirable conduct, confronting ruthless totalitarianism with ultimate dignity and courage, inspires us deeply.” 


Special thanks to our sponsors:


Platinum Sponsor: Juan Otero, Comcast and Rudy Beserra, Coca-Cola


Gold Sponsors: John Hoel, Altria; Justin Kissinger, Heineken; LaKeitha Anderson, RAI Services; Emilio Gonzalez, Verizon; Lauren Robitaille, Wal-Mart


Silver Sponsors: Patrice Webb, American Beverage Association; Cindy D’Aoust, Cruise industry Charitable Foundation; Joe Avila, Ford Motor Company; Xochitl Yanez, State Farm; Bert Gómez, Univision


Bronze Sponsors: Howard Moon, Amgen; Susan Santana, AT&T; Ray Dempsey, BP America; Christopher Turner, Dell, Inc.; Richard Lopez, General Motors; Chanelle Hardy, Google; Angela M. Arboleda, Herbalife; Allison Schwartz, Intuit; Linda Auglis, National Beer Wholesalers Association; Ezra Garrett, Oportun; Silvia R. Aldana, Pacific Gas & Electric Company; Myisha Gatson, PhRMA; Remus Chen, Taipei Economic and Cultural Representative Office; Mario Hernandez, Western Union



For event details click here.




Community Search
Sign In
Sign In securely

6th Annual Trade & International Affairs Symposium

Future Leaders Conference - Fullerton, CA

Congressional Hill Briefing

Fall 2017 Global Leaders Graduation Ceremony

Latest News